Nepal: Geoscience in the Himalaya program

The program is a component of SIT (School of International Training), a study abroad non-profit with a more than 80 year history. The seven-week summer program emphasizes both traditional field skills and investigations into geohazards, engineering geology, and other human-Earth system interactions. It is a “field camp” but with a broader range of topics than just structural geology and mapping. The program includes a two-week research project component as well. I am the Academic Director and am joined by colleagues from Nepal’s Tribhuvan University for the instruction. Nepali students also participate in the program allowing for in-depth cultural, as well as geoscience, learning.
The program website is www.sit.edu/npg and I have attached a 1-page info sheet. I will be holding an informational webinar on October 24th 3pm ET (2pm CT, 1pm MT, 12pm PT). Register for the webinar at https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/303498714.

Let me know if you have questions.
Thanks!
–BethBeth Pratt-Sitaula, PhD
Academic Director
Nepal: Geoscience in the Himalaya
SIT Study Abroad, a program of World Learning
1-509-899-3480 (USA)
977-980-393-3445 (Nepal)
http://www.sit.edu/npg
beth.prattsitaula

NepalGeoscience-SIT_2014_1pager.pdf

Advertisements