College of the Environment faculty selected as members of WA State Academy of Sciences

Dear College of the Environment Community:

It is my great pleasure to share with you that College of the Environment faculty members E. Virginia Armbrust (Oceanography) and Clifford Mass (Atmospheric Sciences) were announced as new members of the Washington State Academy of Sciences earlier this month. They were among a number of UW-wide inductees this year, including Provost Ana Mari Cauce. This is a great honor indeed and we congratulate all of them on this remarkable achievement!

The mission of the Academy is to provide expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policy-making, and it works to increase the role and visibility of science in the state of Washington. These also are core tenets of the College of the Environment, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to see our faculty engage their talents in such a service-oriented manner.

In addition to Ginger and Cliff, the College of the Environment has numerous faculty within the Washington State Academy of Sciences ranks – including:

Brian Atwater (ESS)

Joost Businger (ATMOS)

John Halver (SAFS)

Ray Hilborn (SAFS)

Edward Miles (SMEA)

Theodore Pietsch (SAFS)

Thomas Quinn (SAFS)

Peter Rhines (OCEAN/ATMOS)

Roger Rosenblatt (SEFS adjunct professor)

Ronald Thom (SAFS affiliate professor)

Usha Varanasi (SAFS affiliate professor)

John Michael Wallace (ATMOS)

Peter Ward (ESS)

Please join me in congratulating Ginger and Cliff, and all of our WSAS faculty members!



Dean, College of the Environment

Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor

University of Washington

Ocean Sciences Building

1492 NE Boat Street, Suite 200, Room 209

PO Box 355355

Seattle, WA 98195-5355

206-221-0908 (phone)

206-685-7532 (fax)